HELP! I ate a Swedish CAR and now I can't feel my tongue!

Today is another awesome day, mainly because I get to try another new type of candy that I’ve never even HEARD of before.  Today, we are trying AHLGRENs bilar.  These sweets come from Sweden and are apparently one of the most popular candies over there.  Underneath the title it says “Sveriges mest köpta bil” which translates to “Sweden’s most popular car”.

Ahlgrens Bilar

Ahlgrens Bilar is defintely one of the oldest candies I’ve reviewed on this site, as this brand originates from 1885.  You can see in the window of the packaging, little multi-colored cars, so it lives up to it’s name.  The cars themselves come in red, green, and white.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from these, but when I popped the first bilar in my mouth, I was pleasantly surprised.  There are not exactly like the typical American gummi worms or bears that we are used to, but these have a more creamy feeling to them.  They stretch and chew like gummies, but taste more like a flavored marshmallow.

The flavors are kind of hard to pin down.  The easiest flavor to pick up on is the green, it has a very clear citrus taste to it, so I have to guess that it is lime.  The hardest one to guess is red.  I’ll be honest, I really don’t have a clue as to what flavor this is supposed to be.    Cherry or Strawberry are two likely answers, but it doesn’t actually taste like either one of those.  The most unique by far has to be the white bilar.  At first, it has a fruity taste, but after letting it rest on your tongue for a second, you begin to taste a definite menthol flavor.  If you eat a couple in a row, the menthol becomes really strong and your tongue actually starts to feel a little numb.  It might not be for everybody, but I thought it was cool for a candy.

Ahlgrens Bilar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wanted to give a big shout-out to Thomas from Sweden for sending these my way!  My recommendation to any body that ever spies Ahlgrens bilar at their local store, is to pick them up!  These are unique and yummy!  Give them a shot.

You can check out their website at www.ahlgrensbilar.com

 

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Candy, chewy, Fruity, Gummi, Marshmallow, Swedish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey man, was just looking through the net looking for some info and came across your post. You, my friend, ROCK!!!

  2. I think they sell them at Ikea around the world. Look for them there the next time you’re buying crappy, cheap furniture!

    You should try to do a blind test. I have eaten Ahlgrens bilar all my life and am still not convinced that they actually taste differently.

Leave a comment